View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2004, 05:49pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Does the contact go through the defender's torso? In other words do both players go in opposite directions from the contact point? If the defender moves away from the contact, it's a good indication that the offense created space illegally.

If the defender's torso stays at the point of contact, the space created is by the offensive player fading away, which indicates incidental contact.

There is no set way to call this play. You just have to see the whole play and make a judgment.

You also see the play reversed when A1 hit's a spot and starts a fall away jumper and the defender steps up and there is a slight bump, and we have to decide if the contact caused A1 to back up or did they do it on their own.
Thanks blindzebra for the clarification.

But what if the bump cause the defender fixed to his position (without sending him flying) for a brief instant and therefore B1 is not able to contest A1's ensuing fade away shot? therotically, I still think A1 gets a unfair advantage, but are no-calls more prefered in this case?

Even in the case that the bump does cause B1 step back a little, how often in real games can you "get away" with an offensive foul call without lecturing the couch later on about your call?

Thanks.
Like I said, it depends on how you judge it.

It's easy if they chicken wing, ala Jordan, and push away the defender. It's easy if they go through the torso and send the defender backwards.

If it's subtle you have to factor in how your partner is calling it, how physical the game has been, how the players involved have been playing each other, time, score and whatever else you want to throw in there. If it's subtle, is the call going to make the game better? If not it's a no-call.

One thing you should not factor into your call is what will I tell the coach. It's a judgment call not a rule interpretation, so say, "Coach your player created the space." End of explanation.
Reply With Quote