Thread: two questions
View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 04:00pm
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I don't think so....

Quote:
Originally posted by scyguy

How about this situation, a foul is called on Team B. Before you realize, you inbound ball to Team A, then the scorers table buzzes, as Team A advances ball upcourt, telling you that the foul was the 7th team foul on Team B. Even though a stoppage of play occurs, you cannot award FT's to team A since you have already inbounded ball. So, you inbound ball to Team A at the nearest point the ball was located when stoppage occurred. Correct??
I don't think so. The rule states that you have until the next dead ball after the clock has started to correct the error. In this case the ball became dead and the clock was stopped at the foul. The error ocurred when the official gave the ball to Team A to inbound the ball. At that time the clock was stopped. So I believe you have until the next dead ball to correct it. Once the ball becomes live after that its too late. So I would award the FT's.
Reply With Quote