View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 01:28pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Awarding a merited FT is not part of what the book tells you that you can correct under a timer's mistake. A timer's mistake will let you put time back on the clock, but it will not let you shoot the missed FT. If you want to give them their merited FT, the only rule that will allow you to go back and do so is R2-10. There's nothing under any other rule that will let you do that. May not be fair iyo, but dem's the rulez.
Ok, again in all seriousness, you simply haven't answered my question. Why is the fact that the clock ran relevant to the question of whether this play falls under 2-10 or not?

Are you saying that if everything happened exactly as described (FT misses, kid rebounds, everybody takes a few steps upcourt, then horn sounds), but the clock did not run, we could just line back up and shoot one FT? If so, then why can't we do that after the clock ticks off 2 seconds? By rule, why not?

I'll grant you that it's very unusual, but it's really just two mistakes (not 2-10 correctable errors). One is the error by the official who stated 1-and-1 instead of 2 shots, and the other is a timer's error for letting the clock run when it shouldn't have.

As soon as the mistakes are discovered (again, assuming that the horn sounded within a second or two), we realize that the ball really never became live after the FT missed. As long as the ball never became live, there's been no 2-10 error.

If the play is allowed to continue for several seconds or if Team B is allowed to score, then it becomes implausible to say that the ball never became live. But if it's caught immediately, then it makes perfect sense to say "Uh, guys, it was 2 shots".
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote