It fits with the passage that says an official may declare that the ball never became live. If the ball was never live, then there is no time consumed.
Again, I'm assuming that the horn sounded very quickly. Rebound, turn, pass, horn. If the play gets to the point where Team B scores, then we clearly have to apply 2-10.
I'm trying to avoid 2-10 altogether, b/c a strict enforcement makes for a stupid result. The rational, correct result is to line everybody up and shoot a FT. If the horn sounds immediately, that's what we'll do. If it's not possible to do that then we go with 2-10.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
|