Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
the ball became live when it was at the throwers disposal
|
Yes, but it became dead as soon as it was apparent that the FT would not be successful. So the rebounder simply caught a dead ball.
Quote:
Originally posted by the old grumpy guy
I'll go along with that--if the clock didn't start. If they did start and then stop the clock immediately, what are you gonna do now? By rule?
|
That's just a simple timer's error. I have definite knowledge of the time that should be on the clock, and so we put it back. The ball was never live during the "play", so we reset the clock, line everybody up and shoot a FT.
It really doesn't seem that hard. The bottom line is the play never happened, b/c the ball was never live. As long as the error is discovered immediately, ignore everything that happened after the first FT and shoot the FT the way it should've happened.