Thread: two questions
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 14, 2004, 06:57pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by scyguy

My original question was answered, but only because the ball became live when it was given to the inbounding player. Anything that happened prior to that could be corrected, because the two shot foul implies a dead ball until after the second shot.
Nooooooo! Lah me, the ball NEVER became dead after the free throw missed!!!!

The correctable error was not giving team A their second merited free throw. That can be corrected under Rule 2-10-1(a)- failure to award an unmerited free throw- but only if the error is caught in time, as per Rule 2-10-2. As per the rule that I quoted above- R2-10-4, anything else that happened after the free throw was missed can NOT be corrected. Quite simply, there is nothing in the rules that will allow you to wipe out B's basket, and R2-10-4 very specifically says that you can't wipe out B's basket! On a free throw, the ball becomes live when an official places it at the disposal of the free thrower. In this case, when the free throw missed, the ball remained live and the clock legally started when B rebounded the missed FT. The ball is now live up until the time that B made their field goal; then the ball became dead when it cleared the bottom of the net on that made goal. Now, you can only correct the original error of not awarding the second FT if you catch it before the ball next becomes live again--which is when an A player picks it up for their throw-in. Once the ball is at team A's disposal for that throw-in, the ball becomes live again and it is too late to go back and give A their missed second FT. But no matter what, you can't cancel anything else that happened between the original missed FT by A and the time that you do end up stopping the game to check- and that includes B's basket. If you read the case book play that I cited- 2.10.1SitB, it might clear that up for you. Note in that play, the field goal counts.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 14th, 2004 at 07:05 PM]
Reply With Quote