View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2004, 12:37pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Re: Re: Tada what?

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef

Thrower, touches the ball to the floor in inbounds or steps inbounds = Violation.

IOW, whether touching the ball to the floor or if the player is touching the floor, it's the same occurrence. It isn't logical for it to be a violation if the player's hand touched the floor inbounds but not if the ball, held by the same hands touches inbounds.
So, we disregard:
  • 4-4-4 [ball location --> player location]
  • 7-1-2 [player out of bounds --> ball out of bounds]
  • 4-35 [Location of Player --> where touching the floor]

    We rewrite 9.2.5 Situation [Thrower touching inbounds] and
    we add a situation called 9.2.6, both to include out of bounds thrower touching the ball inbounds.

  • 1) Sooooooo......using 4-4-4, if a player in-bounds with the ball, reaches over and touches the ball to the floor OOB, y'all say "y.U.P., perfectly legal! Play on!"?
    2) Of course we don't disregard R7-1-2(a). That's why the ball touching the court in-bounds becomes OOB.
    3) Of course we also don't ignore 4-35. That's why we have a subsequent violation under R7-2-2.
    4) 9-2-6 is explicit imo too. The thrower-in can't touch the ball in the court. Was the ball in the court when it touched the court in-bounds? Yup! Did the thrower-in touch it at the same time? Yup! Ergo.....

    How come we're using the same rules to argue completely different conclusions?
    Reply With Quote