View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 10:38pm
Mark Dexter Mark Dexter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Let's say that no one says anything for about another 30 seconds of play. The coach then questions who the foul was charged to. The official believes that he may have reported the wrong number. What rule would you guys use to justify changing the foul? Maybe 2-11-11?
Yes - 2-11-11 - this is a bookkeeping mistake. No matter who we say committed the foul, only one player actually did (especially in this case where we know green 51 couldn't have done it!)

NCAA has the same rule - correct a bookkeeping mistake before approving the final score (2-11.12) - and I've had a few games where an official will report a foul on one player, and then come back over to the table at the next media timeout and say it was really on a different player. Change the book, move on, and hope it's not the player's 5th.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote