Quote:
Originally posted by vawils
1. Substitution - Starting the 4th quarter A1 has the throw in and does so properly and takes a shot and B1 rebounds and heads upcourt. During this time some of the crowd is yelling that A only has 4 players - there had been confusion at the A bench starting play with players slow to return to court etc. After the shot A coach must have noticed that they only had 4 players on court and another player just "joins the action" - no reporting etc. I was the lead going down with B1 but saw it as did the trail and center officials. No one blew a whistle. We discussed it at the first dead ball and it was generally agreed that we had blown it by putting the ball back in play with only 4 players on court. Not sure I was comfortable with that but really had no effect on game but probably could or should have given technical right?
|
By rule, it's supposed to be an automatic technical foul charged to team A as soon as their 5th. player came on the floor. The technical foul is for not having all of their player return to the court at approximately the same time following an intermission. Once a team responds,
all of the their players must enter the court at approximately the same time.
Yes, you shouldn't have started play with only 4 A players on the floor, but once you did, it's a T when the 5th player comes on later. The covering rule is NFHS 10-1-9 and the play is similar to case book play 10.1.9.