Thread: umpire quiz
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 07:57am
Gee Gee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by Shmuelg
Excellet call, Gee.
The BRD section 419 carries an official interpretation from Mike Fitzpatrick, head of PBUC: If a runner tries to return to a previously occupied base after the pitcher has the ball on the pitcher's plate, the umpire will warn him. If he persists, he is out. Above all, the umpire must not permit the defense to play on the runner.
C2,

I have a problem with that Minor League ruling in an OBR game.

Situation:

OBR.

Batter hits a triple and is now on third. The ball comes into F4 at second and defensive coach calls time out and goes to talk to the pitcher. R3 knows he missed second and assumes the meeting is for an appeal at second.

Once the pitcher is set and play is called R3 darts back to second. Pitcher, in his haste, throws the ball into center field. R3 (re)tags second and ends up at third and your going to call him out? I know I'd have trouble doing that.

The only way I have an out on that play is if defense tags second base when the ball comes in as the retag was not allowed and I would negate R3's attempt or if the defense makes another proper appeal I would allow it for the out. Other than that I have nothing. G