View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 25, 2004, 05:59pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by cingram
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by cingram
Quote:
Originally posted by Damian
End lf game, break away for big guy for slam dunk. One person to beat who is not going to let him do it.

A1 is going in for a fast break, B1 fouls to keep A1 from slamming it in. Regular play. On the way out of the gym I commented that A1 should have bounced it off of his own backboard and slammed it in. My Co said it would have been illegal (double dribble). He sighted the rule of passing off of an opponent's backboard and the same should apply if he was not attempting a shot.

We both looked in the rule book (NHSF), but could not find a case or rule to cover this.
Just a quick point:
A1 throws the ball up against the backboard, B1 fouls A1 - Common foul not shooting foul, ball is dead, A1 dunks the ball - Could be a T on A1.

I fail to see how this could be an advantage...
If A1 threw it off his own backboard and was fouled while doing so, why would you call a "common" foul and not a shooting foul? Rules reference please.
Rule 4 Section 40 Article 1 - The Act of shooting begins simultaneously with the start of the try or tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight, and includes the airborne shooter.

Most players will throw the ball up, then jump to dunk. As soon as they've released the ball and they are on the floor they are no longer a shooter and the foul is a common foul.
Where does the play say that A1 was on the floor when fouled or that the foul occurred prior to the ball being released?
Reply With Quote