Why is there any question about what to do with this play? Runner has 3 choices here...give himself up, go down(Safety-non malicous contact) or try to avoid the tag without going out of the baseline established in the rundown.
This is a clear case of OBSTRUCTION not interference! You call obstruction at the time the obstruction occurs, which in this case is when the fielder "Sits" on the runner after the ball squirts loose and is retrived again and runner is tagged out.
Now where do you place the runner? Rulebook says the runner is entitled to the base in the umpires judgement he would have gotten to safely before or if the obstruction wouldnt have occured. BADA-BING... thrid base!
Ax
|