Quote:
Originally posted by Hoopref
I think of it this way when it comes to the division line during a throw in...
It disappears. As in a jump ball (see case 9.9.1 sit b), the division line only appears once a player with the ball has established themselves on the floor (not where they took off from). And both the jump ball and throw ins are referenced in 4.12.6
If you read 9.9.3 closely, it notes "...player legally jumping from his/her frontcourt...return to the floor with one or more feet on backcourt...it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt."
As for the "pass" twist, it still doesn't matter as again, the line doesn't appear until a player who has contact with the floor has possession of the ball.
This basically all comes down the fact that there is no team control during a throw in.
So I answered 99 true (at least using this line of thought).
|
Unfortunately, the correct answer for #99 is false according to the NFHS answer key sheet. And that's what counts. And R9-9-3 says it's an exception for a "player", not "players"
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 11th, 2004 at 01:06 PM]