View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2004, 03:49am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is online now
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,646
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Yes, they are. When they line up for the free throw, tell them to keep their arms within their own spaces. After the thirty-seventh time you tell them, they may start to listen.
Mark,
I believe that you are incorrect to instruct the players to keep their arms within their own marked-lane spaces. According to NFHS rules there is no restriction on extending the arms into another players space. If there is not any contact, there is nothing to call. If there is contact, you need to decide whether or not to call a foul, but you should not tell them not to do this.

The reason that this action is legal is that 9-1-9 specifically states the FOOT may not break the vertical plane. It puts no restrictions on other body parts.

Reply With Quote