View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 04:00pm
Smitty Smitty is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
I'm just looking for a clarification on the result of this Case Book play (4.19.6 - A):

Airborn A1, while trying for a foeld goal, is fouled be B1. A1 continues with the trying motion and before or after releasing the ball, crashes into B2 who has legal position. The try by A1 is successful. Ruling: Even though A1 was fouled, the ball remains live because the foul occurred during the trying motion. When airborne shooter A1 fouled B2, however, this was a player-control foul, which caused the ball to become dead immediately. Therefore, the field goal by A1 does not count, however, A1 is granted two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting. (4-1; 4-11; 6-7 Exc 3)

My confusion is about what happens during A1's free throws. Do we clear the lane and it's B's ball nearest the spot of the player-control foul? Or is the only penalty for the player-control foul the not awarding of the basket? Seems to me you penalize both fouls, as this is not a double foul situation. A1 gets his free throws, but then you penalize the player-control foul and give the ball to B for a throw in. Am I right or am I missing something? I would think that if they go to the trouble of explaining that A1 gets his free throwns, they'd finish the description of the play and say what happens after that.

Reply With Quote