Quote:
Originally posted by Gre144
If this guy slid 8 feet from the bag couldn't he be called out because of committing an illegal slide as defined by 2-32-1 FED?
|
I thought of that too, but IMO a illegal slide call would be very shaky here. The runner could easily have reached the bag if the fielder wasn't in his way.
Quote:
Also, if interference were to be called, would the other runners return to the bag at the time of the interference or the time of the pitch? 8-4-2P says at the time of the pitch but 8.4.1 Situation C says at the time of the interference. I assume the latter would be true in the situation that you mentioned but I can't find it in the rule book. Can anyone give me a hand on this?
|
Since the ball is dead immediately on interference, runners shall return to the base they held at the time of interference, unless the rules specify time of pitch. I do not see the relevance of 8-4-2p here, and 8-4-2b PENALTY applies only to illegal slides.
P-Sz