View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 25, 2004, 09:24pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by kbarnett
Bears VS. Tampa Sunday 10-24-04
1st play for Bears on offense.
Swing pass type play resulting in a 70 yard touch down.
Play was called back due to an offensive pass interferance call.
The official stated that a reciever had made a block down field prior to the catch.

After reviewing the play I discovered it wasn't actually a forward pass but a latteral or sideways pass to the half back.

Question 1 : Does this finding negate the possibility of making the call for pass interferance or illegal block down field infraction?

Question 2 : Would the play be reviewable in order to establish the absence of a "forward pass" thus overuling the penalty and granting of the touchdown?

I work NFL rules, and "it is OPI if an offensive player blocks downfield prior to the ball being touched." The rule is 8-2-5C1
Reply With Quote