Thread: Backcourt
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 11:12pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Laker D
Hello all.. I've been refereeing rec leagues, church leagues, YMCA leagues for 20 years.... and I'm also still playing the game actively... My question is as follows...

In Indiana HS basketball rules.. player A in the frontcourt passes the ball to player B who is also in the frontcourt, but jumps towards the backcourt, and catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. It is my opinion that this is a backcourt violation. Opinions ? Rules ?

Thanks in advance...

Laker D
Not a violation. 9-9-ex.1 During a throw in.

Even though team control was established by player B, the exception is made during a jump ball or a throw in for a player to land before front court status is obtained.

If the ball is inbounds and in control of player A you have a violation.

[Edited by blindzebra on Oct 23rd, 2004 at 12:14 AM]
Reply With Quote