View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 20, 2004, 12:36pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
But, the real reason for my reply here ...

MLB umpire mechanics.... A-Rod ran wide of the base as the ball was dribbling off into right field. Was it correct for the first base umpire to signal SAFE? He obviously did not see the tag attempt (or he would have seen the interference, too). But, he obviously did see the missed base.
Once the runner has passed the base, he is considered to have touched it, therefore the call would be safe.
He wasn't signaling safe at the base, He was signaling "no tag."
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong