Garth and all. Below is a reply from Jim Evans. Wha kind of beer do you drink, Garth
Dave,
Regarding your rules inquiry: Several people have called and e-mailed me regarding what happened in the NY-Bos game Sunday.
Honestly, I did not see the play when it happened but I was recording the game for use at the Academy. When people started calling me, I went back and reviewed the tape and I agree that a balk should be called in that situation. In effect, that is an illegal pitch. He delivered a ball to the batter while not in contact with the rubber. And, an illegal pitch with runner/s on base is a balk, as we all know (8.05e/2.00 Illegal pitch). In addition, you could legitimately call a balk based on rule 8.05 g.(the pitcher made a motion normally
associated with his delivery while not touching the rubber).
Think about it this way: Runners on first and second. There was no runner attempting to advance from third, what is his purpose in throwing home? To exchange the ball? I don't think so in this case. The pitcher got confused and committed what I call a "mechanical balk." There really was no deceit but he violated the procedure just like when a pitcher drops the ball while touching the rubber. There is no deception but that is considered a mechanical balk. If you do not call this a balk and the runner who thinks a pitch has been thrown attempts to steal third is thrown out, should the out stand? I don't think so. Do you see the problems that can incur if you do not use common sense and prohibit this
practice?
You mentioned that once the pitcher stepped back off the rubber, he became an infielder. Since when do you let infielders deliver the ball to a batter who is in position ready to hit? If there is a possible play at the plate, we've got an entirely different situation. In this case, the runner on second (not third ) wasn't even running.
Another litmus test is this: If the pitcher does this four times in a row, are these considered "balls" or "no pitches." If you consider them "balls," the batter walks. If you consider them "no pitches," then Time must have been called and nothing could occur. My suggestion is to call the first one a balk and you eliminate any confusion later.
We can talk more about this later if you wish, I think you are taking the short end of the stick if you do not call this a balk.
Jim
|