Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Davies
Throwing the ball wild has nothing to do with it. 8.01e says something like, when he steps back off the rubber, he is just like an infielder.
|
It means that he is just like an infielder for the purpose of baserunning awards.
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Davies
It is then stipulated that IF the ball is thrown wild...... etc. What if the ball isn't thrown wild? To the plate, to a base, to the center fielder, perhaps? It is still considered a throw, by Rule.
|
If it isn't thrown wild, then this rule does not come into play. Just because F1 steps off the rubber does not mean he can not make a pitch. Read the definition of a pitch.
A PITCH is a ball delivered to the batter by the pitcher. All other deliveries of the ball by one player to another are thrown balls.
It says nothing about F1 being in contact with his plate. Therefore he can deliver a (illegal) pitch to the batter while off the plate.
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Davies
Isn't there somewhere in the BOOK that states the the purpose of the Balk rule is to prevent the pitcher from DELIBERATELY deceiving the BASE RUNNER.
Hmmm, What does a runner do when the Pitcher steps back off the mound? Yep, he goes back to the bag. Stepping off like that is not deceiving the base runner. It might, however, although I doubt it, deceive the Batter, catcher and Umpire.
|
Yes it does say that the intent of the rule is to prevent the pitcher deliberatley deceiving the runner, but there are some balks where he does not even decieve anyone.
Think about 8.05 (k) and (l). K deals with when F1 drops the ball while on the rubber. Now did he really decieve anyone? No, the runners would just return to there bases. But is it a balk? Yes. Same thing with L. L is about when an intentional walk is being given, if F2 is out of his box when the ball is pitched, it is a balk. Now F2 being an extra step to the side did not decieve the runner, but it is still a balk.