Thread: Mendoza Balk?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 18, 2004, 12:23am
LDUB LDUB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Davies
He legally stepped back off the rubber. Do we at least agree on that?
Yes I agree he did step off.

Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Davies
If we do agree, then his next move, by rule, is a throw, not a pitch.
Not necessarily. It could also be an illegal pitch. Read rule 2.00.

An ILLEGAL PITCH is (1) a pitch delivered to the batter when the pitcher does not have his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher's plate; ... An illegal pitch when runners are on base is a balk.

Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Davies
Just tell me why 8.01e doesn't supercede any balk rule.
You are forgetting that it is able to balk while you are off of the rubber. Rules 8.05 (g) and (i) are violations by F1, while not in contact with the pitcher's plate, which result in a balk.
Reply With Quote