Thread: Mendoza Balk?
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 17, 2004, 09:42pm
LDUB LDUB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Re: Spepping Back off the rubber a Balk??

Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Davies
 8.01 There are two legal pitching positions, the Windup Position and the Set Position, and either position may be used at any time. Pitchers shall take signs from the catcher
while standing on the rubber.
(e) If the pitcher removes his pivot foot from contact with the pitcher's plate by stepping backward with that foot, he thereby becomes an infielder and if he makes a wild throw
from that position, it shall be considered the same as a wild throw by any other infielder.

Official Notes - Case Book - Comments: The pitcher, while off the rubber, may throw to any base. If he makes a wild throw, such throw is the throw of an infielder and what follows is governed by the rules covering a ball thrown by a fielder.

This rule is quite specific. The Umpire ruling in last nights game is Protestable.

The vague rules in the Balk section never refer to the pitcher legally stepping off the rubber and THEN delivering a Pitch. Once he steps off the rubber, it CAN'T be a pitch.

Dave
******
What you have quoted has nothing to do with this balk situation. It has to do with throws that enter dead ball territory.

The balk call is not protestable. The balk could have been called for violation of rule 8.05 (d) "The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play;" or for violation of rule 8.05 (g) "The pitcher makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch while he is not touching the pitcher's plate." It could also be called an balk under 2.00 becuase F1 delivered the ball to the batter while not in contact with the plate.

[Edited by LDUB on Oct 17th, 2004 at 10:45 PM]
Reply With Quote