FED rules; no outs; no runners on. Batter swings and misses strike three. Batter turns towards the third base dugout instead of attempting to reach first base. Catcher immediately tags the runner in the back with the catcher's mitt while holding the ball in his right hand. The batter has no idea that he has not been legally tagged out and continues to his dugout.
Do you (1) immediately rule and verbalize "no tag" when the improper tag occurs and wait to see what happens; or (2) say nothing and allow the batter to give himself up by entering the dugout?
|