Quote:
Originally posted by wildcardcis
Okay, okay, I take no offense but I really meant he shot from the "far" free throw line and it bounced on "his own" free throw line (even though that's now what I said).
Let me pose a variation, though ... if the buzzer had not sounded until after the ball was back in the air (or above rim level, or had gone in), THEN would it have counted?
|
We knew what you meant; you just phrased it incorrectly according to the actual standard rule book terminology in use. We get kinda anal about that sometimes.
The answer is still nope, as long as the original shot(try) had ended before the horn sounded. A shot(try) ends when it is certain that the ball can't go in or the ball hits the floor. To count, the original shot(try) must still be in process in the air when the horn sounds.