Quote:
Originally posted by wildcardcis
As the half is ending, a player tries a long shot from his own free throw line. The ball is way short and indeed it bounces on the far free throw line as the buzzer sounds ... and bounces into the basket. Does it count?
|
Don't mind my
confrere, the Chuckster. He's just a little mad at the whole world this morning, but he'll start getting over it in a coupla months. Maybe.
The point that he was making is that your own free throw line is the one that you shoot free throws from, by rules definition, not the "far" one. It doesn't matter where he throws it from in this particular case though. The shot ended when it bounced(actually as soon as it went below rim level), so the ball now become dead when the buzzer sounds(as it is no longer a shot). You can't score with a dead ball, therefore no basket.
Again, please accept a group apology on behalf of all of us here over the treatment that you received from our grumpy little compatriot. Unfortunately, for Chuck, it's not that time of the month, but it IS that time of the year!