View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2004, 03:41pm
djskinn djskinn is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
We were discussing the topic of "substitution during a time-out" at our association meeting. Several officials indicated that if a coach said this time-out is "only for a substitution," that play would continue as soon as the sub entered the game.

However, Rule 5-11 Art, 1 says "Such a time-out (charged) shall not be reduced in length unless both teams are ready to play before the time-out is over."

I believe college rules allow for a "substitute" time-out, but was curious if anyone had ever had the opposing coach say I want the "full" time allowed, regardless of whether the sub had entered the game.
Reply With Quote