View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2004, 01:26am
Dean Strong Dean Strong is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Yes, thank you for that rule interpretation. I guess I'm assuming that 8.05e names an illegal pitch as a balk, so I guess I'm asking if this is an illegal pitch.

Perhaps more about the situation would be helpful. For some of these pitchers, it IS the first time on a 90 ft diamond. I'm doing some games for a fall ball league (in which my son is playing, so I'm helping out) for players making the transition from Little League 60 ft. to 90 ft. bases. No balks or lead-offs in Little League. The players and often their coaches, do not know the pitching regulations, so I am constantly teaching, give warnings, and explaining why a balk has been called.

Its a transition program. Most catchers can't make a good throw down to second, so its often uncontested. Pitchers are just learning how to make a move at first, etc.

So, you may not have seen this side step from the set position, but is a a legal pitch and/or a balk with runners on base? Thanks.
Reply With Quote