Thread: Missed exchange
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 24, 2004, 01:50pm
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Originally posted by INDYREF
Possession was begun as soon as the center put his hands on the ball. Even if the snap is "muffed", it still is possible for B to gain possession. Anytime a ball is fumbled, muffed, passed, or kicked, it is a loose ball. Consequently, a beanbag is needed since this becomes a spot for enforcement. Many times a quarterback picks up the loose ball and continues before the beanbag can be thrown. It this occures, I do not throw the beanbag at the spot.
A beanbag for the spot is only necessary under NFHS rules when a ball comes loose beyond the neutral zone. Any foul that occurs when the ball comes loose behind the neutral zone will be enforced from the previous spot. This includes a muffed snap.
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote