View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:06am
Jim S Jim S is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
Quote:
Originally posted by BushRef
OK, I'm a rookie and all, so attack lightly on my question, but if R is responsible for having batted the ball out of the back of the endzone, why isn't this a safety?
There is a saying amoung Federation officials.
A kick is a kick is a kick is a kick.
The purpose of this is to remind you that until a kick ends it remains a kick and no other action makes it anything else.
A kick ends when either a player gains possession or the ball becomes dead by rule. Definition of kick in rule two.
Although R may be guilty of an illegal bat, because the kick has not ended, the force that puts the ball into the EZ is still considered to be the kick. This is true even if the ball is laying still on the ground when batted.
In other wrds the rules do not consider R to be responsible for putting the ball in the EZ during a kick.
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote