Thread: toss glove
View Single Post
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 03, 2004, 02:41pm
Carl Childress Carl Childress is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by Atl Blue
From the WUA press release of Aug, 2002:

When a batted or thrown ball enters a playerÂ’s uniform or the catcherÂ’s gear, the ball is to be ruled dead and no subsequent outs can be obtained by the defense. The umpire is then directed to employ common sense and fairness and place the runners such that the act of the ball becoming dead is nullified. The umpire may not, however, enforce any outs that he thinks may have occurred had the ball remained live. Outs occurring before the ball went out of play stand.
Thought the WUA does not interpret rules, they do report on them. The material above was either written by Rick Roder or borrowed by Rick for the 9th edition of the J/R. He offers as his source MLB 5.10.

But here's an important caveat that's omitted in some of the posts dealing with this subject: "A ball that becomes stuck in a glove [as opposed to catcher's equipment] remains in play. (J/R, p. 32)
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote