Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
Looking for specific rule references for this play NCAA & NFHS:
p.s. I saw it happen last night in a Junior College game and I think it was done improperly.
Sitch: 4th and whatever from B's 45 yd. line. Team A lines up to kick a 55 yd field goal (they made one this length earlier). This one is partially blocked at the los, lands at about the 12 and rolls to the 3 yd line where it is downed by Team A. The crew was obviously unsure at first, they originally took it back to the 45 and then talked again and then took it back to the three yd line. Team B then gets a safety and in a very tight game it nearly cost them the game. They actually scored with 13 seconds left to win 23-20.
|
NCAA guys. May the confusion have been over where B touched the ball since the rules say if B touches it beyond the neutral zone it is the succeeding spot?
NFHS -- there are only two types of kicks; free or scrimmage. A field goal try is a scrimmage kick meaning it gets the same treatment as a punt -- succeeding spot always.