Quote:
Originally posted by JJ
I need a ruling - here's the play: R3 on third, R2 on second, two out, ground ball in the hole. R3 scores before R2 is thrown out at third for the third out of the inning. B1, seeing R2 thrown out, does a u-turn back to the dugout to get his glove, and never reaches first base.
Count the run? Or go for the 4th out at first because the BR never touched first, and nullify the run? I can't ignore that in FED, can I? Or can I? And how do I justify what my ruling is?
|
This is a play similar to one in the J/R. It was debated extensively on McGriff's. I called the PBUC and asked Mike Fitzpatrick for a ruling. I didn't wait long. He said that in OBR play, if the defense plays on the BR, making him out at first, R3's run will not score.
In a FED game since there is no appeal, it is -- as you say -- dealer's choice. There's no definitive rule that I know of. Thank goodness the chances the play will happen in real life are about equal to a Democrat beling elected governor of Texas.
My advice: Don't call the BR out and, consequently, count the run. It's almost certain the offensive coach will not know that a team can gain a fourth, "advantageous" out WITHOUT appealing.