View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 18, 2001, 10:23am
Carl Childress Carl Childress is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Austin
In some recent threads, the issue of concurrent jurisdiction has come up; BU has the right, and should make calls concerning the batter. Examples are batter is hit by a pitch, and a foul ball off the batter's foot. If BU sees these and PU doesn't, BU should make the call. These are instances where the ball is dead. Is this the key for concurrent jurisdiction?

What other situations concerning the batter call for concurrent jurisdiction? Another possible situation that comes to mind is catcher's interference. When I was coaching, bottom of last inning. We're behind by 1. R1 and R2, 2 outs, 2 strikes. 2nd in batting order is batting, my 3rd batter has already had 3 hits in the game. Batter swings, knocks the glove off the catcher's hand, PU calls strike 3. Of course I say something; PU says he did not see interference. I ask him to check BU, and he says he can't do this. After the game, both umpires admit there was interference. Could PU have legally checked with BU? or could BU have volunteered the information?

Another example is a ball in the dirt on third strike. PU may not have realized the pitch hit the dirt before the catcher gloved it. Should BU volunteer the call in this situation?
Ed:

When is your book coming out?

I teach "concurrent jurisdiction" for all of these events for umpires of amateur games.

The trickiest one, where likely I'll get static here, is the catcher's interference call. The only time I think that's really concurrent is when a vastly senior official is perhaps training a young rookie. Otherwise, that event probably comes under the rubric of OBR 9.04(a) 1.

However, if the PU in your situation admitted later there was interference, then he needs a transplant of "guts." When you came out to point him in the right direction, if he had any, he would have made the proper call and taken the inevitable heat from another coach, who BTW, also saw the interference but won't for a second let the truth stand in his way.

You see, that's why officials have "problems" with coaches. Most coaches will argue an umpire's reversed call, even if they know the umpire now has made the right decision. If an umpire did things like that, he would be called unethical. When a manager does it, he's being a gamer, standing up for his kids, yadda yadda.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote