Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
2 questiona re: Int Grounding.
1). A12 dropps back to pass to the right flat. A88 runs a sprint 10 yds down field, then cuts to a post pattern. A88 cut then A12's legal pass falls to the ground. There is no one in the area of the pass. INT GROUND?
2). Who make the call on this play (happened yesterday).
A12 takes the snap, rolls to his left. Stops and throws back to the right side of the field (across the grain of the play). The rush is on him. To me (the white hat) it appeared that he set to throw a pass back across the field. 3 B players (call them B56; B43; & B67) all are rushing him. As A12 throws the ball, B56 jumps inthe air for the ball. B56 (and the rest of them) do a great job of not hitting A12 (i am doing my job to protect him). All other players have gone tothe left side. The ball falls to the ground near the numbers. The defense is calling for Int Grnd. I have no idea if a player broke his route, fell down, or the Qb just dumped the ball.
Can the wings / BJ help me out with this play?
Should the throw a flag, thenwave it off later or come in and discuss it with me, then I will drop the flag for IG after discussion?
What is proper about this play???
I can see and cover most IG plays, but this one, moving away then protecting the QB, I could not see anything.......
Thanks!!!
|
1. To me, this just sounds like a blown pattern. I believe that the incomplete pass was not intentional, as you did not mention that the QB was engaged by a defender. A was penalized a loss of down due to their miscommunication. There is no need to flag this play.
2. Preface: In Canadian amateur ball, any official can call IG. In fact, it has been a point of emphasis this summer because if the QB is about to get drilled by a late hit or otherwise, the R needs to judge on this carefully and properly. He should not have to look up to see where a ball lands and where eligible receivers are, since there are other officials that can help.
After reading this play, and should it happen in Canada, you did the proper thing by staying the QB to cover your responsibility: the QB! We could have a side guy or deep guy (we have two because our field if 50% bigger) throw a flag for IG, but it is quite possible that it was just a blown pattern. Having said that, you can always pick up a flag and wave it off, but you cannot throw a flag late (beyond a reasonable reaction time to the play).