OK, I'm coming to the conclusion, this is not a travel. The violation should be a double-dribble. Again, using the example of batting the ball over the defender's head and touching it before it hits the floor, this is not a travel, it is a double-dribble. I believe the case book disregards the number of steps taken, it is the fact the ball was touched twice before it hit the ground.
Again, it is judgement whether the player is "fumbling" or not. If he can bat it all the way down the floor, I'd have to be really convinced he was "fumbling"
|