
Thu Mar 15, 2001, 11:50am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Bfair
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by Robert G
I just finished a LL game 11& 12, I was Pu.
Runners on 2nd & 3rd B1 swings & miises & literally takes of f2 glove. Coach is screaming for interference so I check with my partener & he says yes there is interference, so I award B1 ist. The defense coach says he hit the glove after he swung on his follow through.Would that be interference? Also in either case if it were interference wouldn't both runners abvance.
I think the offense did not pick up on that.
As a new umpire with things happening so fast even at that level I find catcher interference A diifficult call.
|
Unless LL rules are different (and I don't think they are here):If this indeed happened on the backswing, it cannot be "catcher interference." - If the catcher had the ball firmly in his grasp, it is batter interference; he is out and runners remain; if the contact prevented the catcher from catching the pitch, then it's weak interference: dead ball, runners remain.
- Unless runners are moving on the pitch or are forced to advance because the batter became a batter-runner, they do not advance.
|
I am unfamiliar with specifics of LL rule and how they differ from OBR, however, under OBR I do not believe you have batter interference unless the actions of the batter interfered with F2 in making a play or preventing a play.
Under OBR, I would not call this batter out in the scenerio you presented. I would likely ask all to be more careful in attempts to prevent injury.
Just my opinion,
Steve
|
Steve: An interesting position, to say the least. Batters walk on four balls. Batters should strike out on four strikes. Just my opinion.
|