View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 04:40pm
heyblue heyblue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 41
Ziggy,

This is one of the HTBT scenarios.
This is basically a judgement call. First, you have F3 straddling the bag without the ball, this is could be considered obstruction. This is where the second part comes into play. In order to be obstruction, you have to impede the runners progress. If he slowed down because he thought he was going to be out anyway, no OBS. However, if BR slowed down to avoid collision and in the umpires judgement BR would have made it to 1B safely, then it should be called OBS.
Evidently from your post, the blues felt BR slowed down due to the fact BR thought he/she would be out anyway. From the scenario described, I would have obstruction and BR is now on 1B.





[Edited by heyblue on Jul 29th, 2004 at 06:25 PM]
__________________
heyblue
Reply With Quote