View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2000, 11:22pm
TGR TGR is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 44
Question

Interesting situation that a coaching friend (is that an oxymoron or what?) of mine experienced in a boys JV high school game:
At halftime, Team A (the home team)is leading by one point. Both teams are in their lockerrooms. The coach of Team A has a question about the number of fouls one of his players has. His assistant walks out to the court and takes the official scorebook from the table and returns to the lockerroom with it. They look up what they wanted and returned it to the table. In the meantime, the Varsity Head coach for Team B hears of this and quickly alerts the officials that Team A removed the official scorebook from the table. When the referee and umpire return to the floor to start the second half, the referee calls a "T" on Team A for removing the official scorebook from the table. The second half begins with Team B shooting ttwo technical freethrows and consequently inbounding the ball at midcourt.
Was this the right call? And, if so, where is it stated as such in the rules? If it is the wrong call, how would you have handled the situation? THANKS GUYS!
--TGR
Reply With Quote