View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2001, 11:36pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Interesting scenario! I don't think the rules specifically cover this situation. Anyone who answers is going to have to pick a few rules and apply them.

Here's my take.

Anytime after the ball entered the BC and while the ball was still live, the BC violation could have been called. Once the basket is scored and the ball becomes dead, it's too late to call it. It's not a correctable error situation as defined in 2-10. It's no different than trying to call traveling or 3 seconds after the shot has already been made. My solution would have been to count the basket and give the ball back to A1.

And, be sure to point him in the right direction.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote