Quote:
Originally posted by Rog
Going back in time for a moment..... regarding this situation, which rules did you want applied to this situation? (i.e. O.B.R., N.C.A.A., or Fed.)
Since the Fed. season is upon us, this might be of some
importance those Fed. umpires'.
N.F.H.S.
Situation #12: With R1 on second base, R2 on first base and two out, B5 get a hit to center field. R1 touches third base and advances to home as the throw from F8 comes to the plate. R2 has touched second base and third base when he collides with the third-base coach whi is in the baseline watcing the possible play at home plate. Before R1 touches home plate, the throw is cut off and thrown to third base where R2 slides back safely.
Ruling: The play standswith R1 scoring, R2 at third base and B5 at second base. This is not interference by the third-base coach. If he were to assist R2 in getting up, this would then be interference by the coach. (2-21-1c)
|
Rog:
I'm not sure what your problem is. The play has been explained to you by several umpires several times.
The FED play is not relevant. In the exciting play the base coach went into the base line to stop the runner.
In the FED play the base coach wasn't even watching the runner. Note that the baseline in this instance would most likely have been in foul territory.
You remind me of The Little Prince, who once he had asked a question, never let it go.
Roger: Interference in the original play! Under
any set of rules.