View Single Post
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2004, 01:43pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Windy, I think it's possible that the order may matter in some circumstance I can't wrap my brain around. Here's one that comes to mind, in the scenario you guys are discussing - 3 runners on third base.

If R3 is tagged first, he's out. I think we all agree there.

But if that happens, R2 is no longer forced to third base. So at that moment, R3 is out, and R2 is the offending baserunner - thus a tag on both runners would, by rule, cause you to call R2 out, not R1 ... even though R1 was really the screwup on this play.

If this is wrong, quote me a rule that shows me how I'm wrong.
Reply With Quote