View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 11, 2004, 05:19pm
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Post I respectfully disagree!

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
If the team runs the wrong way or some how ends up down on the other end then a safety can occur that way. Basically team B cannot advance the ball.
Sorry Snake~eyes however, your'e ruling is incorrect!
The result of the play is an unsuccessful try by A.

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Basically team B cannot advance the ball. Also Tundra Ref gives an example of team B getting a safety.
Tundra Ref's ruling on his play is the correct as a safety during a try can only occur in B's end zone!
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Now here's one. Team A on the try fumbles the ball into their own endzone, B jumps on the ball. What's the call?
The result of the play is an unsuccessful try by A. Team B can not score during a try!


Both of snake eyes sample plays result in unsuccessful trys for A (or K).
Team B (or K) CAN NOT SCORE during a try under current NFHS Rules.
Therefore, for clarification, if the ball (somehow) were to become dead in A's endzone (97 years the other way) it would not matter who was in possession as the result of the play would be an unsuccesful try by A (or R).

Additionally, (as Bob Floyd noted) and only if you officiate in Oregon is there an experimental rule during 2004 and 2005 that allows the defense to score during a try!
If you officiate anywhere else, the rulings above are correct.
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote