
Sun Jul 11, 2004, 01:47pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 71
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by DeltaRef
I am reading the NFHS rules, (Rule 8), and I see that during a Try, (Section 3) the Ball becomes dead when B secures possession.
I understand this to mean the play is over, no score, move on to the kick off.
But under Section 1 of Rule 8, the chart showing point values indicate under SUCCESSFUL TRY that 1 point will be given for a Field Goal or Safety.
That last part about a Safety has me confused. Does this mean that if during a Try that if K some how finds it's self going 97 yards the wrong way that a Safety is scored, with one point for B?
If the Ball becomes dead as B secures pssession, then how could there be a safety on B with one point for K? You can't score with a dead ball. Just curious and a bit confused.
|
Casebook play 8.3.3 explains how you can have a safety against B on a try resulting in one point being scored for A.
|