View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2004, 11:31am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
With the count at about 8 seconds, B1 tips the ball away, grabs it with two hands, pushes it to the floor to begin a dribble.
When B1 grabbed the ball with both hands, she established player control by holding the ball-Rule 4-12-1. From your description, there is no fumble or muff involved, but actual holding of the ball. That also establishes team control for Team B at the same time- Rule 4-12-2- and this also terminated CONTINUOUS contol by Team A in their backcourt- Rule 9-8. Therefore, the 10 second count for Team A was terminated because Team A lost player, team and continuous control at the same time that Team B gained it- Rule 4-12-3(b). The count won't start again for Team A until a player of that team once again establishes player contol, and thus team control, by holding or dribbling the ball once more.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 19th, 2004 at 12:37 PM]
Reply With Quote