Thread: Closely Guarded
View Single Post
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2004, 10:05am
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra

...
In a play where the dribbler stops and turns back away from the defender, the defender is no longer in the path, but the count does not end, correct?

Can't see what rule basis you have for continuing your count in this case. I've asked you 2 or 3 times to provide one... :shrug:
So, Dan, let's say A1 (dribbler) is standing (dribbling) with B1 between A1 and the basket. (a) Now A1 backs up a step, but is still facing the basket, B1 still between. (b) Now A1 turns 90 degrees left, and dribbles across the top of the key, B1 still between. (c) Now A1 turns another 90 degrees left, and now is facing toward backcourt, with B1 still between A1 and the basket. (d) Now A1 takes two or three steps toward the division line, with B1 still between.

At what point, if any, do you stop the 5 second count?

Chuck, where do you stop, if any?

BZ, how 'bout you?

Oh, and give a rules reference, too.
If A1 has put more than 6 feet between him/herself and B1.
4-10 and 9.10.C .

[Edited by blindzebra on Jun 19th, 2004 at 11:07 AM]
Reply With Quote