Thread: Closely Guarded
View Single Post
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2004, 09:56am
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra


You are not guarding if the dribbler is passed you.
Like Camron said, depends on what direction the dribbler is going.

I explained it in an earlier post. The path is TOWARD the basket. A defender that is behind a dribbler moving AWAY from the basket is still in the path to the basket.

Once the ball is in the front court the offense's objective is to score, so a defender is guarding if they are in the path between their opponent and the basket.
Chuck, what I objected to was this post by BZ, where he claims "in the path" is irrelevant compared to being between the dribbler & the basket, specifically when the dribbler is moving AWAY from the basket. I asked him for a rule or case play to back this up. He couldn't. Neither, apparently could you.

That's all.
Nice job of avoiding. I explained it, just the way I BET you'd call it in a game. Go back and read the post that has 4-23-ART 2 and 3 mentioned. If you still can't understand after that, then you are denser than a rock.

THAT'S ALL!
Reply With Quote