View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 07:58am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Re: Re: Not quite right!

Quote:
Originally posted by DG
There ain't a play if a fielder is 6 feet from the bag. But let's say 2B is on back side of back and in contact, receiving a throw from SS. The runner slides past the bag, and either contacts 2Bman, or alters his play and ends up well past the bag, ie not in reach. Have you never seen this happen?

[Edited by DG on Jun 11th, 2004 at 12:51 AM]
Yes -- and if the contact was beyond the base, it's a FPSR violation in FED and NCAA. If the contact was over (or in front of) the base, it's legal in FED and NCAA, even if the runner ends up in the same spot -- 6' of more beyond the bag.

The OBR rule (which I think is what was being discussed) is different.
Reply With Quote