View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2004, 02:21pm
cingram
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by cingram
Whatever rule allows us to make a decision on something not specifically covered in the rules. (argh, don't have my rule books with me)

What would you do if there was an in-advertant horn (scorekeeper accidentally hits it or hits it after you've handed the ball to someone to throw in) and the offence or defence (or both) stop playing?
If you have an inadvertant horn, you simply follow the rule covering it. In this case, case book play 2.11.3 tells you what procedure to follow for inadvertant horns. What you can't do is make up your own rules. In the above plays, the rules do allow you to T up the coach if you feel that his whistling constituted an unsporting act and thus gave his team an illegal advantage. The rules do not allow you to negate violations however. [/B]
I admit I'm not as verbose as some of you on this board. I will look up that case book play when I get home. I need to read up on the rules and case book plays more (and keep a copy at work too).

By the way (just out of curiousity I'm not trying to pick a fight): which rule allows an official to give the ball back to black when the ball went off them last (they were fouled by white at the same time which the official decides not to call).
Reply With Quote