View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2004, 04:15pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
We gave up a lay-up to a team that had six players on the court and we were in man. Ref noticed after bucket was scored. The tech was for too many players, the points count because it was only addressed after the bucket.

Not sure why this is different. If coach had whistled and everybody played on, you call nothing. Coach whistled, player drives past a lax defense, points are scored, and you go, "oh dexter!" and feel you have to do something about it. Discussion, T.

So I guess you can use the rules to argue either point.
All that matters is when the event you are penalizing occurs.

Dribbler gets fouled, takes one dribble, picks up the ball and shoots. Then you blow the whistle for the foul. Either you wave off the shot or you declare an inadvertant whistle. He can't get the foul and the shot.

The same applies here. If a T is called at all, the shot can't be counted because the ball was already dead when the T occurred, not when the whistle is blown. If you don't call the T, however, the rules only support bucket counting since the ball was live. Fairness, however, suggests that perhaps it shouldn't.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote